Skip to content

Thank You

May 2, 2011

On Thursday, I attended the Foundation for Saline Area Schools Spring Recognition event at Stonebridge Golf Course.  It was a celebration of the eighteen thousand dollars awarded to twenty-three classroom grants.  Several staff shared the impact of their grant on their students.  It was great to see the excitement of the staff as they discussed the projects with the community members and staff in attendance.

This year marked a milestone for the Foundation.  In the fall, they accepted the challenge to raise $65,000 as a strategic grant to allow us to fully implement Project Lead the Way in the 8th grade level.  The evening included an anonymous matching donation of up to $5,000.  The group present raised the matching amount of $5,000.  At the end of the evening Saline Area Schools received a check for $65,000!

We are so fortunate that in an era of reductions, cuts, etc. we have a community partner like the Foundation for Saline Area Schools.  I would like to publicly thank the 17 trustees and all of the generous donors who helped make this grant possible.  The trustees are:

Dana Burkley (Secretary)
Lou Candiotti
Karen Delhey (Vice-President)
Christine Faeth
Lisa Flynn
Marilyn Geiger
Cheryl Hoeft (President)
Bhushan Kulkarni
Reid Paxton
Alicia Ping
Art Trapp
Dennis Valenti
Kim Van Hoek (Corresponding Secretary)
Abha Wiersba (Treasurer)
Brian Woodruff

If you are interested in supporting Saline Area Schools, I urge you to make a donation at

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: